Recent Blog Post: Quiting Corporations

There was a recent blog posted regarding quitting corporations, and moving on. When you should and when you shouldn’t. over at  Miningzen’s Blog, This post struck a personal cord with me, as I had been considering looking around a bit earlier and throughout my eve career. I am a finicky person who tends not to stick with anything for very long, aside from my martial arts. In real-life I jump from job to job, company from company. Most of the time I am not one to act without ration, but on the other hand I tend to react on impulse, and when something happens I up and leave. It’s a bad habit I’m trying to kick.

This can make someone like me seem unloyal or not able to stick to ones goals, I suppose this is correct. Over the time I’ve spent in Eve Online I’ve gone through good and bad  times. Eve is ever-evolving and corporations change directions, or change plans. I’ve learned that it’s important to step back and take a breather before opening ones mouth or stepping aside and bailing when things get tough.

I’ve finally learned to wait things out, and work more with the people around me. Both in Eve and in real life. Oddly I tend to put more thought and time into eve than much of anything in my life, I’ve come to realize this after going a mere few days without Eve. I realize I do not have much else going for me outside of a video game. Still the crew I’m a part of are pretty much all I have besides a few family members. Yet I think most know me much better in-game than in-person. Kind of sad.

Back on topic though: Before hitting that “quite” button, really take into consideration all your options, and experiences and go with the flow for a bit, help out and adjust. A corporation is much like a real-world job: There are subjects you may not want to deal with, co-workers you don’t care much for: but it’s all for the bigger picture.

~ by katsumi1980 on April 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Recent Blog Post: Quiting Corporations”

  1. That’d be miningzen’s post over at: http://k162space.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/quitting-corp/

    Yeah I feel yah on that. It sort of helps the higher up you are in the management chain as I am in my corp, but at the end of the day, it’s just a game. You can play the “wait it out” game for a while, but when you can’t take it anymore, quitting is a very acceptable option.

Leave a Reply

 
