Time Closes In

As the end of the month closes in and payday comes closer I begin to take a look at my current skills and where I plan to go should I chose to re-open my Eveonline account. My main character is a dedicated Amarr pilot who can also mine in a hulk if necessary. Katsumi is a Revelation, Aeon pilot with T3 skills as well. Right now I do not have any command ship skills, Logistics is ready, I just need to plug in the skillbook.

I originally quite Eve after suffering the nullsec burnout many get, then like many nullsec natives: once you’ve left null, you feel as though there’s no where to go. Maybe spend a few days trying to run highsec missions before quickly finding out you’re going no where fast, even L4’s are dull. There’s something about nullsec that just drives things forward… Lowsec seems like too much trouble as well, or I tend to think of it as: full of newer corps who’d like to go null, but they are unsure/unknowing on how to do it, or lack enough blue’s to securely move. Plus: when you live in null: you can always go back to highsec yourself via jump bridges or wormhole and drop off supplies without worrying about your security status due to pvp during the week. My biggest gripe in this game still tends to be the voice-comms and how EVERYONE wants them almost always. I tend to like to log in, do my thing, and relax. Not “oh, I have to turn down my music/t.v. so I can hear comms” and etc. While I enjoy hearing corpmates and etc. sometimes I just want to relax, silently enjoying Eve.

I’m often the one who’s logged into TS or Vent while on Eve, never saying a word, most don’t know my voice. I rat in nullsec systems by myself (preferred) whenever possible, and keep pvp ships nearby in stations/POS’s while intel channels and local stay pulled out scrolling down my screen. This choice of actions means I take responsibility while ratting and getting funds for corp events and pvp that arrives daily. The only times I am really on  TS or Vent comes when a sudden, or planned op comes up. I’m curious if anyone else seems slightly annoyed at how games these days want a lot of voice comms and how players have come to almost completely rely on them.

if I do return to Eve at the end of the month: I’ll mostly be skill training. I’ve got fighter-bomber skills that need to be heightened as well as Traige mode that’s still missing. I’m curious as to what kind of a job I’ll end up doing, or if I’ll find a new corp and start fresh with a few ships and a carrier on standby. While I grew tired of null: I can’t seem to find myself fitting in anywhere else: except maybe wormhole space, which I really enjoy, but is pretty dangerous in a wormhole for a capital ship. On a somewhat random rant: I’d still like to see cap ships have more defense against sub-cap ships. Though a good carrier pilot should have a good variety of drones in their hold to scare off pesky invaders should they get caught. Though an even better pilot: doesn’t get caught and is constantly looking at intel and spamming the local scanner. Better yet: plant alts in small cov ops ships like I used to in w-space and place them at exits/entrances.

~ by katsumi1980 on June 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
