Day 3 Playstation 4 Impressions

It already seems like forever since I’ve had my new Playstation 4 Unit. I knew that upon buying it there would be a single title that interested me and not much more. For me: that title was Battlefield 4! I was eagarly looking forward to the rumored 64 player modes and vehicle warfare promised by Dice. Sadly: The game comes with only 1 or 2 playable modes: Rush, and Deathmatch. Other modes are completely unplayable, Servers playing any other mode besides Rush are none-existant on Playstation 4. While PS3 works flawlessly.

Day 1 and part of day 2 of my Playstation 4 were spent downloading gigs and gigs of updates and game files… 33gig install here, 28 gig install there, 24gigs for this and 18 gigs for that. Every game had something to install, but first it had to be downloaded online. That is a lot of bandwidth being used! After the long download hours it was time to install…. Now this is where I was actually impressed with the PS4: While I played through the campegn on my new digital copy of BF4 I had several F2P MMO’s downlaod and install in the background! No more waiting around staring at an install screen… Frozen until it finishes. With the PS4 you can watch movies, browse around the net or even play a game and applications will continue to download and install while you do whatever it is.

However, this seems to be the single aspect that excites me about my PS4. When it came to my Playstation 3: It was my all-in-one media hub. I’ve transfered all my amazon.com music from my phone to my playstation. I’ve imported google music to it as well. I have hours and hours of music. I’ve used it to play back said music while I’m at my computer, or hosting parties with friends.

I have over 350gigs worth of movies downloaded on my PS3 as well. It IS in fact my main player for media. On top of that I have a host of downloaded movies from VuDu and the Playstation 3 store (PSN store). I’ve got slideshows of favorite moments in my pictures folder, along with photo slideshows using the PS3 software complete with music. Some photos are ones I use for custom Themes, icons and other customization on my PS3.

None of this: Can you expect to see on Playstation 4. It seems Sony has gone out of it’s way to make sure you absolutely cannot customize your PS4 in any way other than to give them money using their own music and video service. They’ve gone to such lengths that you can no longer download your VuDu movies for offline viewing. Nor can you download your PSN purchased movies. Everything MUST now be streamed via the internet. Viewing custom movies you import via smartphone set in “USB” mode, thumbdrive or external HDD is impossible and no longer supported. The same can be said about photos & music as well.

Theme’s have been done away with as well. For me, combing all the above together, no themes, imported media allowed makes the ps4 seem rather bare at the moment. All the things I love about my PS3, everything that made it my one choice to do everything I could imagine, plus play great games is gone with the PS4. There are brief mentions on the playstation questions list here that states they do not support media hub application but they “appreciate your feedback and are exploring possibilities”. The same is stated for backwards compatibility with PS1-3 video games. For gaming: They will release a cloud-based service to allow you to play your old games on the PlayStation 4 console. I am sure something similar may be released for music and video as well, or at least: one would hope so! Youtube has even been taken out from the PlayStation’s list of applications at launch.

Over-all I would say give it a lot of time to see where the console is headed in the future. As of now: it mostly seems like quite a large step down as a media hub and gaming machine. It does, however, have some great potential with it’s new hardware specifications and the cloud service that will be integrated into PSN at a later date. This is one generation that will bloom rather late. I am sure once some major titles get released (Such as the new Metal Gear Solid, Kingdom Hearts, the new Final Fantasy, GT 6, and others: it will shine. But for now: I would recommend holding off on picking one up. I’d be curious to hear people’s comments comparing the Xbox to the Xbox One as well.

~ by katsumi1980 on November 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
